APF Community Contact us


Graphic: Three boys in a market

National Human Rights Commission of India Full Member since 1996.

Manav Adhikar Bhawan Block-C
GPO Complex, INA
New Delhi - 110023
P: +91 11 2465 1330 F: +91 11 2465 1329 W: www.nhrc.nic.in


NHRC records more than 30,000 complaints during pandemic peak

12 Oct 2020 India

Commission calls for answers on deaths of 16 migrant workers

08 May 2020 India

NHRC calls for lockdown guidelines to uphold human rights

15 Apr 2020 India

Open hearing responds to complaints of rights violations

13 Feb 2020 India
More articles

APF membership

1996 (Founding Member)


The National Human Rights Commission of India is an independent body set up under the Protection of Human Rights Act 1993.

It has a broad mandate to promote and protect the human rights guaranteed in the Constitution of India and enshrined in the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.

Role and functions

The Act empowers the Commission to:

  • Inquire, suo motu or on petition, to inquiry into and investigate complaints of human rights violations
  • Intervene in any proceedings involving allegations of violation human rights before the courts
  • Visit jails and other places of detention
  • Review and make recommendations on legislation from a human rights perspective
  • Study and make recommendations on treaties and other international instruments on human rights
  • Undertake and promote research in the field of human rights
  • Build human rights awareness among all sections of the community
  • Encourage the efforts of non-governmental organisations working in the field of human rights
  • Undertake other functions as may be considered necessary for the promotion of human rights.


Shri Justice Arun Kumar Mishra

Dr. Dnyaneshwar Manohar Mulay

Shri Rajiv Jain

Smt Vijaya Bharathi Sayani

Ex-officio members

Mr. Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Chairperson, National Commission for Minorities

Shri Shri Vijay Sampla, Chairperson, National Commission for Scheduled Castes

Shri Harsh Chouhan , Chairperson, National Commission for Scheduled Tribes

Ms. Rekha Sharma, Chairperson, National Commission for Women

Shri Priyank Kanoongo, Chairperson, National Commission for Protection of Child Rights

Chief Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities

Image credits

  1. Three boys in a market - AVI (Flickr); http://bit.ly/1Hw3Hmq